September 11, 2020
Rainbow Six: Siege

Rainbow Six Siege: World Cup announced

On September 10 Ubisoft announced a new tournament for competitive Rainbow Six: Siege. The Rainbow Six World Cup will see each country’s best players clash over a new World Champion title.

Which country is the best at Rainbow Six? A question that we will finally have an answer for in Summer 2021.

Rainbow Six is launching a brand new competition to finally settle the question. The official World Cup will see players compete for their nations instead of the teams we have grown familiar to during Pro League and the rest of the competitive season.

Basketball legend Tony Parker from the San Antonio Spurs and the French national team has also endorsed the World Cup and will be lending his experiences to the Rainbow Six World Cup.

45 Nations around the world
Rainbow Six World Cup Participants
Rainbow Six World Cup Participants

45 countries will be participating in the Rainbow Six World Cup but only 20 will make it to final stage scheduled for Summer 2021. Ubisoft has announced 14 teams to be invited directly while six slots will be up for grabs in regional qualifiers.

As a lot of the countries especially from the directly invited countries have a wide choice of players to pick as national representatives, Ubisoft has also introduced a ruleset for choosing the players.

Composing national teams

To determine the national five for each team Ubisoft has designed a method that involves the community and the professional scene of each country. Each team will have a national committee consisting of three team managers, which will choose the players. One manager will be chosen by Ubisoft’s local esports team, one will be chosen by the local professional scene (coaches, players) and the final one will be chosen by the local Rainbow Six community.

These committees will be formed this fall and the national lineups will be revealed in Winter 2020 prior to the start of the qualifiers. Each team will also be limited to a maximum of two players from the same organisation.

After the conclusion of the qualifiers the final stage of the Rainbow Six World Cup will be held in Summer 2021.

All 45 participants in the Rainbow Six World Cup:

14 direct invites to the Final Stage:

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Russia
  • Taiwan
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain
  • United States of America

For the remaining 6 slots 31 countries will have to battle each other in qualifiers. Ubisoft will host five regional qualifiers for the contestants:

Europe (2 Teams advance to Final Stage):

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine

APAC 1 – South Asia (1 Team advances to Final Stage)

  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

APAC 2 – South East Asia (1 Team advances to Final Stage)

  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand

LATAM (1 Team advances to Final Stage)

  • Argentina
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Peru

MENA (1 Team advances to Final Stage)

  • Egypt
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Morocco
  • Saudi Arabia

Are you looking forward to the Rainbow Six World Cup? Join the discussion on social media or our Discord!

You can also help improve our website by submitting direct feedback!

Image Credit: Ubisoft
Show more