Like many other trusted websites, uses browser cookies. Cookies help you securely log in to your account. They help us to better understand which content is relevant for you, as well as to offer content tailored to your individual requirements and a reliably functioning website - as you expect from us. For better experience, please disable any adblocking extensions.

Agree Disagree Privacy policy
background image

Akatsuki opens eSports league for pro football clubs

Gaming in Japan has known is low-points, mostly because local legislation has made it difficult for athletes to participate in competitions and receive monetary prizes (some odd examples feature the Dota 2 Mara Cup with prizes in seafood). Now, Japanese entertainment company Akatsuki Inc. has launched a new initiative – The League of Professional Esports (LPE) which will channel teams from all over the world to the benefit of spectators and fans.

According to LPE CEO Xavier Cortes, the league has a long way to go, but it’s an open-minded undertaking all together. Cortes commented:

The physical world limits us to compete, whether due to limitations of age, gender or simply physical capacity. With the arrival of esports we want to break that barrier and turn it into a flag that represents us all. We intend to bring light and transparency to a sector that moves millions of young people all over the world, and who see in this new way of competition an opportunity to demonstrate their skills and talent.

That is why our league also aims to be a point of convergence between both worlds, reaching different generations and uniting both followers of conventional sports and esports."

The teams to be involved with the league will come from traditional sports clubs. Following the great success of PSG.LGD who finished second in The International 2018, more football teams are looking into eSports opportunities. The confirmed teams on the list are as follows:

  • Ajax
  • Galatasaray
  • Tokyo Verdy
  • Santos F.C
  • Real Sociedad
  • Villarreal SD Huesca
  • SD Eibar
  • Real Betis.