Like many other trusted websites, uses browser cookies. Cookies help you securely log in to your account. They help us to better understand which content is relevant for you, as well as to offer content tailored to your individual requirements and a reliably functioning website - as you expect from us.

Agree Disagree Privacy policy
background image

Teams for eClub World Cup confirmed

By Kiril Stoilov FIFA 27 Apr 2018 425 views

It is now known which 16 teams will battle it out for the eClub World Cup crown on 19 and 20 May. A total of 116 teams competed in the April qualifiers for the 14 available tournament slots, the other two reserved for last year’s champion Brøndby IF eSport, and the yet unannounced host team.

The exciting qualification process saw 996 matches played and 4,304 goals scored for an average of over 4.3 goals per game. It concluded with the following teams advancing to the final stage:

  • Arte Virtual FC
  • BU e-sports
  • Falcons eSport
  • FC Basel 1893
  • FC Schalke 04 Esports
  • Hashtag Academy
  • Lightning Pandas
  • Method
  • Mkers
  • Transfermarkt eSports
  • VfL Bochum 1848
  • Xolos de Tijuana
  • Brøndby IF eSport
  • Host City Club (to be announced)

Every club has to bring two players – one for PS4 and another one for Xbox. Matches are to be played on a team vs. team basis. Opposing players will facing off on their respective consoles, with the winner decided on aggregate score.

The 16 teams are going to compete for the prestigious title of club world champion, the still undisclosed prize fund, and perhaps the most essential part – a place in the EA Sports FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs. The Global Series Playoffs are the only passageway to the ultimate EA FIFA event – the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final 2018, and with four playoff spots up for the taking in May, every club has the utmost incentive to at the very least make it to the final.

Of course, once you get there, settling for silver is hardly an option.